Monday, July 28, 2014

Activz Whole Food Multivitamin Shake Review

Disclosure of material connection- I receive a container of Activz Complete in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own.

I am always on the look out for products to enhance the health of my family and myself. Getting more fruits, vegetables and vitamins is essential to good health and I know sometimes, especially with young children, it can be difficult to get in all of the healthy nutrients through diet alone. I was super excited to have discovered Activz. Activz is a line of whole food supplements. There are several different types of powder supplements- fruit powders, vegetable powders, grass powders and protein powders. In addition the the wide array of whole food powder supplements available, there are also vitamins, supplements, chia bars, and silver. All of these products are derived from whole foods and are a great way to boost your health and wellness.

I was ecstatic to have the opportunity to try Activz whole food multivitamin shake in berries & cream flavor. This whole food shake can be used in several different ways. You can use it as an energy boost or a recovery drink. You could also just use it to add more fruits, veggies and vitamins into your life. Complete is full of 9 servings of different fruits and vegetables such as broccoli sprouts, carrot juice, beet juice, apple juice powder, grape juice powder and several others. 2 scoops of this stuff, which is one serving offers 100% or more of several vitamins and nutrients such as vitamins a, c, d, e, vitamins b1, b2, b3, b12, and folic acid, among others. It is worth adding Activz complete to your life just for the B12 and Vitamin D boost, both vitamins that are important for optimal health and that I think many people are lacking. In addition to the vitamins, there are probiotics and omega 3s. These supplements are great at keeping the immune system in check!

I first tried Complete in just straight up water. It was too sweet for my taste, but I don't like putting stuff in my water. I am sure many people will find the sweetness more than appealing and an easy think to drink in the mornings for extra energy and a great vitamin boost. I find that I like it best mixed in a fruit smoothie. It gives an extra kick of flavor to the smoothie and of course, adds an exponential amount of nutritional value to your day. I wanted to also try it in some yogurt. I got one bite in before my daughter stole it and devoured the entire bowl, so although this is a healthy choice, it is kid friendly. They will even like it and ask for it!

What I love about Activz products besides the fact that they are made of whole foods and last a long while (you will use them up long before they would go bad, I am sure of it!) is that they are made in the USA and are gmo-free. I like that there is absolutely nothing in them that is synthetic and that the people who created this product have our best interest at heart. I absolutely recommend giving Activz Complete a try. You will notice a difference in your energy levels and in your overall health.

Connect with Activz on Facebook
Connect with Activz on Twitter
Connect with Activz on Linkedin
Connect with Activz on Instagram "

Friday, July 25, 2014

The Nightingale Sisters by Donna Douglas (Book Review)

Disclosure of material connection- I received a copy of the book from Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own.

About the book-
To the student nurses at The Nightingale hospital, the ward sisters are heartless and frightening, with impossibly high standards. But the sisters have troubles of their own...
Violet-
The new night sister is not all that she seems. Who is she and what dark secret is she hiding? As the mystery deepens, Sister Wren is determined to find out the truth.

Dora-

The student nurse is struggling with her own secret, and with her heartbreak over Nick, the man who got away. A new arrival on the ward brings the chance to put a smile back on her face. But can she really get over Nick so easily?

Millie-

Dora’s fellow student is also torn between the two men in her life. But then an unexpected friendship with an elderly patient makes her question where her heart – and her future – really lies.

As the nation mourns the death of King George V, it seems as if nothing is ever going to be the same again, especially for the women at the Nightingale.

My thoughts-


I loved getting to know the student nurses of the Nightingale hospital in The Nightingale Girls and I could not wait to read the second book in the series. There were relationships hanging in the balance in book one and many of the girls were only at the beginning of their training. What I love about this series is that is about several different type of women working toward the same goal. Millie is from the upper class, Helen from the middle and Dora from the lower class. In the first book Millie was my favorite character, but Helen grew on me in the end. I loved all 3 of them in this book, but Dora's story is particularly interesting to me. There was also a solid moment in this book where I really came to love Nick, Dora's next door neighbor and love interest, even though he does some things that make me shake my head too. There is a lot going on in the book with these women and several story lines, but it isn't hard to follow,  and there are some many interesting things going on, it kept me turning the pages. I also enjoy that there are several romances going on in the novel, I am a sucker for a good relationship and there are a ton of romances blossoming (or not in some cases) in The Nightingale Sisters. For me, it is great reading historical fiction because I am really interested in the past. I love that I get a feel for what a girl who might have been going through nursing school at this time period in London might have gone through, but that these characters are all easy to relate to and quite easy to come to care for them. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction or themes of romance or suspense. I absolutely can not wait to read The Nightingale Nurses. I already have it downloaded and ready to go on my Kindle!

"

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan (Book Review)

Disclosure of material connection- I received a copy of the book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest thoughts. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own.

About the book-

In Dad is Fat, stand-up comedian Jim Gaffigan, who’s best known for his legendary riffs on Hot Pockets, bacon, manatees, and McDonald's, expresses all the joys and horrors of life with five young children—everything from cousins ("celebrities for little kids") to toddlers’ communication skills (“they always sound like they have traveled by horseback for hours to deliver important news”), to the eating habits of four year olds (“there is no difference between a four year old eating a taco and throwing a taco on the floor”). Reminiscent of Bill Cosby’sFatherhoodDad is Fat is sharply observed, explosively funny, and a cry for help from a man who has realized he and his wife are outnumbered in their own home.

My thoughts-

I thought the title of this book was funny and I have seen a few of Jim Gaffigan's stand up acts, so I thought it might be a fun read. I didn't realize that the Gaffigan's have five children! I have been lamenting the fact that my husband and I become outnumbered in a very short period of time...while when my first baby was 13 months old, we tried and successfully became pregnant with our second baby...and our third baby. We had only planned on evening out the score and having two total, so having three kids, that are exceptionally close in age, it has been a pretty big adventure the last 5 years! I really enjoyed this book because I could relate to a lot of the scenarios Jim Gaffigan had mentioned going through with his children. I like that he can joke about parenting, the same way my husband and I do sometimes about our gaggle of kids. This book had me laughing out loud more than a few times. I could not even begin to imagine having more than 3 children and we live in a decent sized house in the suburbs with a nice backyard. Jim's stories about living in a two bedroom apartment in New York City, especially the stories that involve him getting 5 kids ages 8 and under down 5 flights of stairs to go anywhere, were super funny. I like this lighthearted book and I think most parents, especially parents of several kids could relate to it. In addition to all of the cute stories and self deprecating humor, I also really enjoyed reading how completely enamored Jim Gaffigan is of his wife. It is evident from the very clever theatrical like opening of the book where he lists her as having multiple "roles" in the book/family and all the way through when he consistently mentions her. It is refreshing to see a husband write so sweetly about his wife. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good laugh, but especially to parents...who need one.


Dad is Fat is available on Amazon.com.

Connect with Jim Gaffigan on Facebook
Connect with Jim Gaffigan on Twitter
Connect with Jim Gaffigan on Goodreads
www.jimgaffigan.com/ "

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Younique Makeup- This stuff is amazing!

So much comes in the Presenter's Kit! $99 + ship's free
in July!
A while back I did a review and giveaway for Younique's 3D fiber lashes. A friend of mine became a presenter and I had heard of and seen awesome pictures of this amazing product and I new I needed to try it. I absolutely fell in love the very first time I applied the fiber lash mascara. Even my favorite high end natural brand of mascara can't compare, and Younique is actually a few dollars cheaper! When I ordered the mascara, I also ordered a couple of the eye pigments and a lip gloss so I could try several of the products. I have been impressed with all of them. So this month when my friend mentioned that they exclusive deal for July is free shipping on the $99 presenters kit, I was pretty much on board to get it and begin a Younique journey of mine own. The kit contains over $400 worth of makeup for you to play around with and use at in home parties should you chose to have any (they are not required, most Younique parties are exclusively online!)

A lot of people are intimidated by direct sales or think that they can not create a lucrative business out of it, but Younique is well...unique. Here are some great reasons to consider joining:


  • $99 Starter kit ships free July. It's over $400 worth of makeup, but you only pay 1/4 of that cost. 
  • Automatic Commissions- unlike other direct sales companies that pay you once a month, Younique automatically loads your commission after each sale happens! 
  • $25 bonus to spend on your birthday
  • FREE Website (you have to pay a fee monthly for most other direct sales I know of)
  • Great products that sell themselves! 
  • The opportunity to earn a $250 shopping spree with "Fast Start" when you join
  • Discount on products you will love using anyway! Not only can you earn commission from your own purchases, if you host your own parties, you can take the hostess credits for yourself
  • The ability to have parties from the comfort of your home. Most parties are online on Facebook, unless you CHOOSE to have in home parties!
  • Because the parties are online, your guests can be from out of town, expanding your customer base exponentially.
  • You get to help people discover makeup that is not only better for their skin and the environment, but looks so much better than traditional brands!
There are so many fantastic reasons to become a Younique presenter. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me and I will be glad to help.  If you would like to throw a party to test the waters, I am happy to help you set one up!

I am so excited to be a Younique Presenter and I would love to have you on my team!

Here are a few of my personal Younique looks! I am having fun playing with the colors.

Here are my bare eyelashes/eyelids
In this picture I have 2 coats of fiber lashes

Once again, 2 coats of fiber lashes! :)







"

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Green Virgin Liquid Soap Nuts Review


I have been using soap nuts for a few years now, but for someone who is not familiar with them, they might be a little intimidating. I was thrilled to hear that there is a liquid version of soap nuts and I was even more excited to give it a try!

If you are unfamiliar with soap nuts, they are the shell of the fruit of sapindus trees. This is the only laundry product you can get that grows on trees! That makes this pretty much the safest thing to use in your washing machine to clean your clothes. You can not get more natural than right off of the tree. The liquid version made by Green Virgin  is comprised of the main ingredient sapindus mukurossi soap liquid and caprylyl glycol and phenethyl alcohol as the preservatives. All ingredients rate as a 0 (the best rating) on the Skin Deep Database, so this is a safe product to use for your clothes. It comes with a pump and it says for HE washers that you only need to use two pumps.  That is 120 loads in a tiny 8 oz bottle! I have a top loading washer, which requires three pumps of liquid, but that would still last a while! When I first pumped it in, I noticed that it is a brown liquid, which is a little different than the norm, but I have used this laundry soap several times now and the coloring has not effected the outcome of any laundry I have done. There is a distinct smell to the laundry soap, but I have not noticed that it leaves any scent on the clothes. I like to use dryer balls with essential oils infused for scenting my laundry. 
I have been impressed with Green Virgin's Liquid Soap Nuts so far. It does a great job getting my clothes super clean and since it is so concentrated, it takes up less space in the laundry room and also lasts longer than some of the big containers you would get at the store that contain all kinds of bad chemicals. Liquid Soap Nuts are great for naturally cleaning your clothes, contributing less to waste (because of the small bottles/long lasting product:) and better for you and your family to be around because the liquid does not contain any chemicals.

Green Virgin has a sample bottle of the liquid soap (that will take care of 6 loads of laundry) for .50 cents if you want to give it a try before you commit. I highly recommend giving it a try!



I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers."

Monday, July 21, 2014

Escape Monthly July/India box review

There is probably nothing I love more than traveling when I can. I think it is so much fun to explore new places and explore new cultures. I do not get to travel as often as I would like or go to all of the places on my travel bucket list, so when I heard about Escape Monthly I was ecstatic! Escape Monthly is a subscription box. Each month they pick a new destination, gather cool items from the destination, jam pack a box with said items and ship them to your doorstep. The coolest thing about it is that each month, one lucky subscriber wins a trip to wherever the destination is! Past escapes have included: Napa Valley, Las Vegas, Hawaii, Colorado and Ireland. July's escape was to India and so far it was my favorite!

There were tons of great items in the India box. In addition to the travel book about the Taj Mahal and surrounding areas, my absolute favorite thing included was a bottle of Amber perfume oil. It smells fantastic. I have been wearing it daily.  There was a small bottle of gee included which I promptly used to enhance the rice I was cooking in the rice cooker that night. You know if the family eats all of their brown rice (at least in my white rice loving house) that whatever was used to cook it must have been some good stuff! Madras curry and Korma curry were also in the box. I used the Korma for some chicken the same night as I used the ghee. It was okay as far as taste goes (Indian food is supposed to have a bit of spice kick to it, and this korma fell short in that department), but I was glad to see that Saffron Road (the company that makes it) is GMO free. That is enough to prompt me to buy it again and add my own spices and to try other Saffron Road products. Another really cool thing included in this box was the Masala Pop Chai Masala Popcorn. It is a unique twist on popcorn with authentic Indian flavors. The cardamom gave it a wonderful taste. The kids and I absolutely loved it. As with every Escape Monthly box, there were a couple of bath and body products included. There was a sample of Banyan Botanical's Neem & Aloe soap and Healthy Hair Oil from the same company. I am really excited to use the hair oil because I know it will make hair look shinier and healthier. Last but not least, for a bonus item Escape Monthly through in some cute Bindi decals for the forehead. These are a tradition in India said to represent one's wisdom. They also look really cute! Although it had nothing to do with India and wasn't listed in the brochure as one of the items, they also through in a Juice Beauty hand cream! It was a nice extra bonus!

There wasn't a thing in this box that I didn't like. That makes me even more excited for next month's escape. THE ONE I have been waiting for- PARIS!! If you are not already receiving these boxes, this is the month to sign up! Boxes will ship mid-month and I will be counting down the days and crossing my fingers to be the lucky one to win the trip to Paris! If you are a new member, you can get 20% off of your subscription by entering the code PARISESCAPE at checkout!

Connect with Escape Monthly on Facebook
Conect with Escape Monthly on Twitter "

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Oliver and the Seawigs by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre (Book Review)

Disclosure of material connection- I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest thoughts. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are 100% my own. 

About the book-

A lively step up from early chapter books, this seafaring romp is packed with hilarious art, lovable misfits, meddlesome monkeys, and tons of kid appeal.

When Oliver's explorer parents go missing, he sets sail on a rescue mission with some new, unexpected friends: a grumpy albatross, a nearsighted mermaid . . . even a living island! But the high seas are even more exciting, unusual, and full of mischief than Oliver could have imagined. Can he and his crew spar with sarcastic seaweed, outrun an army of sea monkeys, win a fabulous maritime fashion contest, and defeat a wicked sea captain in time to save Mom and Dad?

My thoughts-

My kids are still young and are not quite into chapter books yet (my daughter i almost there though!), but I can't wait until the day that they are! It is so fun to come to the realization that you can have such fun adventures through someone else's words using your imagination! I love to read children's books of all sorts so that when they do get to the age to read more difficult books, we will have a library full of them at home to chose from. I recently had the opportunity to read Oliver and the Seawigs by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre. It is a very imaginative fantasy book that I think little kids would love. Oliver is a likable character and from the very beginning pages, he is on an epic adventure. I love that this book is short enough to not be overwhelming for a young chapter book reader, but there is enough going on in the plot to keep an older child interested as well. The illustrations are lively and adorable and there are fun characters that Oliver meets along the way and I loved the wonderful wit throughout the story! I would recommend this book to parents with young kids ready for chapter books to read together with them and for independent young reader's alike. 

Oliver and the Seawigs will be available for purchase on July 22, 2014. You can pre-order it on Amazon.com.

About the author-

Philip Reeve is the acclaimed author of the Mortal Engines/Predator Cities series, the Fever Crumb series, and Here Lies Arthur (2008 Carnegie Medal Winner). He was born and raised in the seaside town of Brighton, and has been writing down adventures since he was five years old. (www.philip-reeve.com)


About the illustrator-


Sarah McIntyre has written and illustrated several picture books and comics for children. Her delightfully over-the-top drawings and mischievious monkey illustrations brought Philip and Sarah together for this series. (www.jabberworks.co.uk)

"